Hi again,

 

Something I’ve enjoyed since my teens has been writing. Back in those days, I wrote for video game sites, something which I continued to do until my 20s. Then one day I was invited to join WaterMelon to develop Pier Solar. I shifted my focus to video game development, but continued writing there. For Pier Solar, I wrote the NPC script and some other texts, but I’ll talk about that another time. For a few other projects I have written the story and script, but none are released yet. On those projects I worked with others, but this time around I am on my own, for better or for worse.

 

As I said in my previous post, I intended to include things that I like in this project. It might be a tremendously stupid way to design a video game concept, but I don’t care. I do this to grow as a writer, designer and pixel artist, not to please people who wrote the rules. I actually thought since the games which inspired me, Gauntlet IV and Dungeon Explorer (Mega-CD version), have next to no writing at all, I can’t go wrong either way. Anything is better than nothing, right? With that said, I feel satisfied with my story. All bits have fallen into place and fit perfectly.

 

One thing I was unsure about was the theme of the first tower, which is flowers. But I decided to go with it. I rewrote the story a bit to make it fit in. Speaking of it, I can show you some of the background for this tower. It is grass. I don’t want to spoil too much, so I’ll just show a single tile of 16×16 pixels.

 

Flower Tower - tile.png

 

May the force be with you!

Take care,

/Zebbe

 

Leave a Reply

